Program Competence Areas & Global Learning Objectives

Program Competence Areas

The RAE Program employs a variety of educational strategies and engages residents in interactive activities, each wiht learning objectives aimed at helping them achieve competence in the six ACGME areas.

Below are examples of learning objectives related to achieving the following four of the ACGME competence areas:

(1) Practice-based learning & Improvement;

(2) Interpersonal & Communication Skills;

(3) Professionalism;

(4) Systems-based Practice.

In addition to these areas of competence, we also provide support for residents to learn how to incorporate technology into their everyday teaching in clinical or didactic settings.

Global Learning Objectives

Resident participants should be able to outline a plan or describe strategies for:

  • Assisting students in developing a plan for improvement;

  • Self- and peer-assessment of teaching and assessment skills; and

  • Continuing instructional development.

Please use the menu at left to view examples of learning objectives for RAE Program activities involving each of these competence areas.